

Your Keu to Professional Excellence

ESP Annual Chapter Meeting 1pm, December 15, 2021

Meeting called to order at 1:00pm by José García, President

Officers

President – José R. García President Elect – ??? (Formerly Lindsay Davis) Treasurer – Nancy Kershaw Secretary – Emily Henry Immediate Past President – Katie Ahern

- Nominations didn't receive any additional nominations but can submit to José still
- President Emily Henry
- President Elect Anna Browne
- Secretary need nomination
- Treasurer Nancy Kershaw currently but will be stepping down; willing to train someone for a year
 - Kelli Watcherson interested and has been nominated

Secretary Minutes - Annual Meeting, December 2, 2020

- Any questions, comments, or edits to be made on 2020 annual meeting minutes?
- Melinda moved to accept minutes as written, Deb Warnock seconded; minutes approved

Treasurer Report

- Year end report (September 30 is end of budget year)
- Didn't spend any committee money except for Recognition committee
- Didn't have to transfer any money from savings
- Account balances more money than this time last year because of lower spending
- Doing well and on par with previous years
- 92 members last year; at 61 members so far this year
 - o Jan Williams have actually received payment for 73 at this time
 - o Membership is on similar track to last year (62 this time last year)
 - o Can do last minute push on membership, including to current members to make sure they renew
 - Note: for awards, nominees have to be member in the current year and in the prior year; makes lapse in memberships difficult so important to do outreach before memberships lapse
- 2021 2022 budget looks pretty similar to 2020 2021; removed website and non-profit budget lines
 - Planned for 90 members
 - Did better on fundraising than planned
 - o Carryover didn't do much spending last year
 - o If spend full budget, will have to pull from savings
- Motion to approve 2021 2022 budget by Deb Warnock, seconded by Jan Williams; budget approved

Old Business

- ESP Conference October 25-28, 2021
 - o Great conference; OSU well-represented with awards and attendance



Your Keu to Professional Excellence

- Next year in Branson, Missouri watch for call for proposals!
 - Chapter support for new attendees and presenters
- Relatively small, welcoming conference
- Talk with Deb Warnock if interested in national committees on national professional development committee
- Regional Awards Recipients
 - Sam Angima, Distinguished Service
 - Katie Ahern, Administrative Leadership
 - Victor Villegas, Diversity Multicultural Individual
 - Barbara Brody, Katie Ahern, Lauren Kraemer, Jenny Rudolph, Maureen Quinn, Cheryl Kirk,
 Distinguished Team
- Chapter Annual Report (Chapter of Merit, Achievement in Membership)
 - o Received Chapter of Merit and Achievement in Membership at national conference

New Business

- JCEP Conference February 9-10, 2022 in Kansas City, Missouri
 - o Registration Open encourage anyone to attend!
- PILD Conference April 3-6, 2022 in Washington, DC
 - Registration Open will be in-person
- Auction Tuesday Night Happy Hour during Extension Annual Conference
 - Live Auction = \$1,186
 - Silent Auction = \$688
 - o Grand Total = \$1,874 (\$500 more than last year!)

Committee Updates

- No committee updates presented at meeting
- Global Relations Committee Shana Withee
- Urban and Culturally Diverse Affinity Committee/Group
 - Melinda Garcia would like create group and to chair
- Marketing Committee Victor Villegas
- Member Recruitment and Retention Jon Gandy
- Professional Development Committee Tracy Wilson and Becky Munn
 - o Emily Lampe will join
 - o Podcast or book club?
- **Public Issues** Vacant
- Resource Development & Management Committee Vacant
- Scholarships, Grants, and Recognition Committee Barbara Brody
 - o Charissa Jones will co-chair
 - o Due dates for awards, scholarships, grants, and stipends
- **Historian** Duane Johnson
- Retiree Issues Committee Nellie Oehler
- Newsletter Editor Vacant
 - o Publishing twice a year winter and summer
 - o Ann Murphy and Melinda Garcia will support newsletter



Your Key to Professional Excellence

Nominations & Elections

- <u>Ballot to vote found here</u> with following officer slate:
 - o President Emily Henry
 - o President Elect Anna Browne
 - Treasurer Kelli Watcherson
 - Secretary no nominations
- Motion to vote for officer slate for those who can't access form at this time; motion by Jan Williams and seconded by Katie Ahern; motion for current slate approved (for president, incoming president, treasurer)
- Committee members/chairs can be appointed without a vote

Thank you to the leadership team – José

Meeting Adjourned at 1:46pm by José García